Opening files previously saved using a different version

If you open a file that had been saved with a different version of Genero Studio, a dialog appears allowing you to decide how you wish to handle the file.

Opening a file previously saved using a previous version of Genero Studio

If you open a file that had been saved with a prior version, you have the option to convert and open the file in the current version or to open in a different version of Genero Studio.

The dialog options include:
Open in new instance
Displays a selector to find the version of Genero Studio associated with the file version.
Open
Converts the file in memory and opens it. If saved, it will be saved to the latest file format.
Cancel
Cancels opening the file.

Opening a file previously saved using a newer version of Genero Studio

If you open a file that had been saved with a newer version, it cannot be opened with the current Genero studio. You have the option, however, to open it in a different version of Genero Studio.

The dialog options include:

Open in new instance
Displays a selector to find the version of Genero Studio associated with the file version.
Close
Cancels opening the file.